Humble Gratitude

“I say it is a humbling gratitude because it has been my experience that my pride is most thoroughly broken when, at the end of my resources, God meets my need. Most of my tears in this first year have not been shed in the moments of tragedy, but in the moments of victory. Again and again I have entered situations afraid, and God has rebuked me with mercy. And I have been abased for my unbelief. Those are strange tears: joy, gratitude, sorrow, and repentance all in one.” – John Piper, on his first year as a pastor at Bethlehem Baptist Church

One thing I love about John Piper is so often he says things to describe the way I feel in a way that I only wish I could. This quote perfectly describes this first year out of college for me.

One thought on “Humble Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Rebuked with Mercy « Rugged Joy

Leave a Reply

