Depends on the Day

This year I have been able to live with one of the most amazing, dearest friends in my life: Esther Ko. At night we stay up late chatting about anything from absolute nonsense, current TV shows, songs from the Wicked soundtrack, issues of life and godliness, to relational conflicts– I really mean anything. We talk in our kitchen, in the stairwell, in her room, in my room, on Kathy’s bed, anywhere. And during the day we talk while we are at work. So today I’m sitting in my cube chatting with Esther on google chat, and I asked her how her morning is going. After responding, she asked me the same question. I was surprised by my response:

Fabu
and Cindi comes home today
and I read most of that book last night
and I get a cell phone today

These are the things that make my day good? That my friends are around, my homework is done, and I have a cell phone? Right after I said it I realized how sad it was that that really was the truth of my heart in why today was going well. I mean, on the surface it seems harmless. Those are all great things. Cindi is a gift from the Lord and fellowship with the body of Christ is commanded. It’s good to have deep and loving relationships. Being faithful and responsible to my MABC classwork is part of good stewardship of the training God is providing for me. Cellular phones are amazingly helpful– especially in situations like getting lost on your way to a bachelorette party in a city 30 minutes away that’s God forsaken and you know nobody.

But those things aren’t what makes my day good or bad. Every day, with or without friendships, with or without completed school work, with or without helpful technology, is a day of grace and a day where I am helped by God, cared for by God, and most importantly saved from His wrath through of His Son. I don’t say that to be trite. I say that to remind myself that my circumstances don’t determine whether or not I’m having a good or bad day– my standing before God does. And that is unchanging.

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus… I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.” – Philippians 4:4-7, 11-12

Leave a Reply

