Tracing the Beam

I came across this quote today on the GirlTalk blog:

“Pleasures are shafts of glory as it strikes our sensibility….I have tried…to make every pleasure into a channel of adoration. I don’t mean simply by giving thanks for it. One must of course give thanks, but I meant something different…Gratitude exclaims, very properly, ‘How good of God to give me this.’ Adoration says, ‘What must be the quality of that Being whose far-off and momentary coruscations are like this!’ One’s mind runs back up the sunbeam to the sun….If this is Hedonism, it is also a somewhat arduous discipline. But it is worth some labour.” (C.S. Lewis as quoted in, When I Don’t Desire God, by John Piper)

It made me think two things: 1) What brings me pleasure in this life? and 2) What must I do to turn those into a channel of adoration? If Mr. Lewis is right (and I believe he is) then it is right and good to labor hard to trace the beam of blessing back to the Creator and turn simple (or complex, even) pleasures into vehicles for adoration. So I wrote out my pleasures….which started out good and left me feeling rather worldly. I love decorating and entertaining and shopping and manicures and pedicures! But I guess the goal of this exercise is how to take seemingly worldly pleasures and transform them to adoration to the Creator of every good and perfect gift. Which brings me to part two: What must I do with these pleasures?

I’m gonna be honest and say that at this point I’m not sure. But keep watching….hopefully an answer will be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

