Triathlon Training Day One

So I decided to train for a triathlon. This is primarily for 3 reasons:

1. To motivate myself to run again even though I despise it with the heat of 1,000 suns.

2. Because last week I made it one of my life goals to never run a marathon (I’m learning about setting minimum goals so you can acheive them…I really feel that I will be able to accomplish this life goal with no problem whatsoever).

3. I really enjoy biking and swimming, so I feel like the only hard part will be the running

So Wednesday night I began my training and had one of those moments where you wish your life was being video taped. I went to the park behind the YMCA and ran all through those trails back there, and I was on my way down a trail listening to Journey “Don’t Stop Believing,” the sun had just set so the moon had just come out and was incredibly bright, and I started running as fast as I could go downhill right as the guitar riff came on in the music and as soon as the land leveled out the guitar riff broke. Man, there’s nothing like it. It was amazing. That was the high point of the night.

Low point: feeling like my lungs were going to explode the entire time.

Anyways, I’m off to meet my mom in Cambria for the weekend today after work. Triathlon training will have to continue at the beach!  

2 thoughts on “Triathlon Training Day One

  1. hey beth! i run in those trails back behind the ymca, too. if you want to go some time, let me know. safety in numbers! 😀

  2. Bethel! I am so proud of you for doing this! I think you’re going to end up really enjoying it! I did a couple triathalons when I was younger and the training was hard, but the actual event was always so fun! I’m rootin for ya!

Leave a Reply

