Red Cups

It is a well known fact that I love Christmas. And the thing about me is, when I love something, I tend to overdo it. I am the girl who watched Miracle on 34th Street every day for an entire summer when I was in 7th grade (yes, summer). Last year I celebrated Christmas in July because one day it was foggy and we happened to have a Christmas CD handy, and it just felt so much like Christmas I couldn’t help it! I make a new Christmas mix every year and spend hours agonizing over which songs will make the cut and what exact order they should be put in for maximum enjoyment. I am 23 years old and still have a hard time getting to sleep the night before Christmas. And if it weren’t for the constraints I put on myself, I would celebrate Christmas all year long.

That’s why November 8, 2007 was such a big day for me. That’s right, Starbucks came out with their red cups today, which means I can officially begin celebrating Christmas!

I woke up at 6:30 this morning so I could get to Starbucks by 7:15 to meet my friend Esther for the first red cupped egg nog chai of the season. In her words, it was positively “enchanting.” And tonight, I am putting together my Christmas Mix 2007.

Among the things I am most looking forward to this Christmas Season: the kickoff of the season the day after Thanksgiving in HAWAII with my family, going to see the Christmas tree in Union Square (although I can’t be there for the lighting this year), Christmas concerts at Grace Community Church, my annual Ugly Sweater Christmas Party, the White Elephant gift exchange at Generations, the annual Christmas Movie Marathon on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day in Cambria, and the (new for 2007) New Years Eve Catron family Christmas (because that’s the only time we can all get together to open our presents).

Merry Christmas Season to all, let the celebrating begin!

One thought on “Red Cups

  1. Oh, Beth! This post was music to my ears! I went to Starbucks yesterday and just drooled over all the Christmas stuff!

Leave a Reply

