Aloha!

We finally made it. I’m blogging today from the family room of the house we’re staying in in Kihei, Maui. To my left is the backyard which is cut off abruptly by the ocean. No joke. You could dive from the grass into the water. It’s beautiful.

The journey was fun. It’s amazing that us kids are grown ups. So I flew in to San Francisco Friday night where my lovely sister picked me up. I stayed at her place, and my brother and sister-in-law met us there on Saturday morning. We all drove together to the airport and boarded our plane to Honolulu. Don’t think my sister and I didn’t make a scene trying to get seats together, but to no avail. I’ve never seen the charm of the Catron sisters fail so miserably.

We had a 6 hour layover in Honolulu, so we took a cab to town and had lunch at Don Ho’s which was right on the water. The Catron sister charm did work there, and we successfully lowered our bill from $70 to $45 by bargaining for Happy Hour prices. It was sheer brilliance in terms of team work. I take the “kill them with kindness” route and Caris calls them to the carpet. It’s scary what we can accomplish when the two of us are together.

Then we took a short flight to Maui where our parents picked us up at the airport. They finished their Hawaiian cruise yesterday so they were already tanned and relaxed. We picked up our rental car, went to the grocery store, and came back to the house we’re staying at. Which is beautiful. And our view is beautiful. And Hawaii is wonderfully relaxing but it’s surprisingly hard to let go of the busy mindset I have in life. As soon as we landed I told my brother-in-law, Dan, “I have got to learn to relax.” That’s one of my goals for the week. To relax.

Today has been fun but uneventful. We had breakfast together, lounged around reading and talking for awhile before Caris and I headed out to the pool followed by my mom and sister-in-law. After awhile we decided we wanted to go swimming so Caris, Dan, and I headed to the beach while the rest of the fam set out to explore the island a bit. At the beach, the water was warm and we had fun just swimming and playing and doing flips in the water. When in the world do you do flips in the ocean? Then we came back here to swim and play some more in our pool. Now we’re just waiting for the rest of the family to return with the food for dinner.

So here’s what I’ve accomplished thus far: 1) Obtained my first sunburn of the trip. Oopie, that really was an accident. 2) Finished the 600 page book I brought. Oopie, again. Looks like I’ll have to go to the store and get some more books. Turns out I’m a veracious reader when I’m not being forced to read. And 3) Set my goals for the trip which include– getting as tan as humanly possible (I know, deep and meaningful), finding a waterfall and swimming in it, relaxing and learning to relax, and learning to love my family more selflessly and forgive quickly. I don’t just throw that last one in there because the first three are silly. But, it does help on the superficiality scale.

2 thoughts on “Aloha!

  1. Pingback: How Do I Feel? « Rugged Joy

Leave a Reply

