Christmas Dinner Deluxe

Speaking of Christmas traditions, this year my mom tried to buck all of them. Usually we celebrate as a family before Christmas because all of the brothers and sisters go to the in-laws (who live out of state). For the past four years we have done this, and then my mom, dad, and I spend Christmas together on Christmas Day. Because of work schedules and flight schedules, this didn’t work out this year so we didn’t end up having Christmas together as a family until this past Sunday. So…my mom didn’t want to do any of the traditions– stockings, Christmas Eve Pajamas, or traditional Christmas dinner. Fortunately, I talked her back into most of the traditions. And instead of having the “superbowl food” she was talking about having (in honor of the Colts game), I talked her into a more gourmet Christmas dinner. So I found the recipes and put the menu together and Caris, Mom, and I all worked together to make it happen. It was a wonderful dinner. I thought I’d share it (and the recipes) with those of you who care….

Herbed Roasted Turkey Breast (we are going for the Turkey Breast more and more instead of a traditional turkey because it is so much easier to cook)

Prime Rib (cook at 15 min. a bone at 500 degrees, then turn off the oven and keep it in the oven for 2 hours without opening it so you don’t lose any heat.)

Ruth’s Chris Steak House Potatoes Au Gratin (we got our recipe from the Top Secret Restaurant Recipes Cookbook)

Cranberry-Orange Sauce (this is by far the best cranberry sauce I have EVER had)

Sauteed Green Beans with Pancetta and Mushrooms

Traditional Stuffing (but I added probably an extra cup or so of chicken broth so it was extra moist)

Cranberry Poached Pears with Mascarpone Filling (the recipe calls for the pears to be poached in Red Wine…I used Trader Joe’s Cranberry Harvest Juice instead and they were delicious!)

Homemade wheat rolls

And Warm Apple Buttermilk Custard Pie for dessert!

Hope this inspires you…it was delicious! I’m glad we strayed from the traditional meal this year!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Dinner Deluxe

Leave a Reply

