Jesus is Precious Because….

The past few weeks I have been studying through a sermon series by John Piper called The Truth & Beauty of Jesus Christ. I bumped into this sermon series when I ran across this quote in one of his Taste and See Articles a few weeks back:

Let this be your life: Ponder him; be pervaded with him; point to him. The more you know of him, and the more you admire the fullness of his beauty, the more you will reflect him. O that there would be thousands of irresistible reflections of the beauty of Jesus. May it be said of such reflections, “It disarms us. It takes away our arguments.”

I really pray that that would be my life. It’s a beautiful, isn’t it? That we would be irresistible reflections of the beauty of Jesus. It’s such a drastically different mindset to have than the world who pursues one’s own outward beauty for the sake of pride, vanity, and sexual immorality. So that got me wanting to study more about the preciousness and beauty of Christ.

Yesterday I came to the sermon titled “Jesus is Precious Because Through Him We Become Authentic.” It is awesome.

The counselor in me loved how it addresses the current culture’s need for authenticity. The God fearer in me loved how it addresses the Lordship of Christ and the need to submit to Him in all of life. The man fearer in me loved how it addresses the fear of man in regards to the Lordship of Christ and that the two just don’t square well. The sinner in me identified closely with the feeling of being inauthentic and putting on a show so that others don’t know what I am truly feeling. And the optimist in me loved the hope it provided for autheticity in our inner and outer man by doing what we were created to do- put God on display and glorify Him!

Let’s just say I got rocked. It’s definitely a re-read on my list. Check it out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

