Better Than Any Known Way

I have been doing a lot of thinking recently about the will of God.

It’s interesting to me how many of my “problems” would be solved if I really desired God’s will above my own. So many times I create problems for myself because I decide what is good, and best, and wise prematurely and end up being disappointed, frustrated, and even angry when God makes it plain that His will is not the same as mine. I am beginning to be able to tell more quickly when my heart turns from wanting God’s will to desiring my own. My faith and trust in God goes out the window and instead I begin to cling to what I want. And when I continue to cling to what I want it is incredibly painful when God pries it from my hands.

I can’t change God’s plans for me in the coming months and years. But I can desire His will above my own and make this journey a joyful, sanctifying process or I can cling to my will and make it a tearful and difficult process in which I do a lot of wrestling with the Lord.

I know that He is wise, and good, and able to do far more than I could ever ask or think. Tonight I can say I really believe that to walk with Him through the darkness is better than any known way.

One thought on “Better Than Any Known Way

  1. Beth,

    I happened to be up late (to finish entering grades for my students…10 Week mid-semester grades are due Monday) and thought to check your blog… of all things.
    Your entry title immediately brought the title of an autobiography, Safer Than a Known Way, by Pamela Rosewell Moore. She, among other things, was a personal assistant to Corrie ten Boom, author of The Hiding Place. The opening of her book includes a quote from M.L. Haskins: ” I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year: ‘Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.’ And he replied: ‘Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.’ ” Both books are great.

    Love ya, Erika

Leave a Reply

