TMC 4 Me

Last year in May I wrote a post about a time I was greatly encouraged by a quote from John Piper. He wrote,

“You know, I went 4 years to Wheaton, 3 years to Fuller, 3 years to graduate school and at age 28 did not know what I wanted to do when I grew up.

I just knew a few central realities: I love the Bible. I want to use it to help other people obey it for Jesus’ sake.

That leaves open a lot of possibilities!”

At the time I felt really confused about what to do with my life and where the Lord wanted me. I had gone through a tremendous disappointment when I found out I hadn’t gotten my dream job, being an RD at The Master’s College. I don’t know that I can really describe the discouragement I felt during that time. It was hard. I felt like I had finally figured out what the Lord wanted me to do….and then He snatched it right away. And I faced another year of floundering around Southern California, working so I could pay rent, and getting my MABC for who knows what reason other than I didn’t know what else to do (although, the year wasn’t really that bad and at some juncture I think I stopped floundering and started to enjoy life as it is- aimless, hazy, and confusing as it may be at times).

Welp, I have good news. This morning I was offered my dream job, being an RD at the Master’s College, and I accepted. It was a long road getting to the point where I felt convinced I wanted to reapply, and since then I’ve gone through rounds of interviews and tried desperately to desire God’s will above my own. Apparently God’s will and my will are the same on this, and I’m going to get to do it!!! I’m going to get to do something where essentially my entire job is to love God’s Word and to use it to help other people obey it for Jesus’ sake.

It’s a dream come true. I’m ecstatic. And finally I feel free to be really excited about it. PTL!

5 thoughts on “TMC 4 Me

  1. Congratulations, Beth! You will make one awesome RD. This is a really cool example of waiting on the Lord…for myself I thought it was time to return to TMC twice to finish up my counseling degree, and lo and behold, this fall it is time. TMC 4 me, too. Cheers! 🙂

  2. “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4 That’s what happens when you pursue seek first God’s kingdom … your desires are changed such that you desire what he desires. A wonderful experience and I’m excited to see how God uses you in this new adventure of faith.

Leave a Reply

