Life is Good

I’m going to have to take a short commercial break from my blogging series on marriage for a quick life update. Life is good. Really good.

Two weekends ago I got to be a bridesmaid in Esther Ko’s (nay, Dennis) wedding. I think it was the first wedding I’ve been in that I cried in. It was so precious to get to watch her give her life to Rick. We used to walk together sometimes in our old neighborhood in Stevenson Ranch. I remember at the end of one of our walks telling her that I was praying that the Lord would bring her someone she was more scared to live without than to live with. I’m so thankful that the Lord answered my (and hers, and many others) prayers by bringing Rick into her life. I’m so happy for them!

Last Friday was my last day at Worldbridge Partners. I’m continuing to work with the candidates I am already in process with, but am no longer actively recruiting and no longer in the office. I worked pretty hard right up until the last day…but now I am glad to be D-O-N-E!

And on Sunday a group of friends and I trekked out to Oxnard for a little Memorial Day camping. Things didn’t look good on Sunday after church when the weather forecast was for rain…but my heart was set on camping. So we loaded up and got out there, shopped for food, and set up the campsite. That night we walked over to the beach, barbecued hot dogs over the campfire, played some intense games of Uno, roasted marshmallows and made s’mores, with a round of would you rather to wrap things up. Then we went to bed. The next morning I woke up pretty early…and being as I was sleeping in a tent on a very thin mattress pad, I wasn’t super motivated to stay in bed as long as possible. So I got to spend some time in the Word…which I always love when you get to read and pray and not be hurried or rushed and you can take as long as you want. It doesn’t happen often, but it’s awesome when it does happen. Then other people started waking up and coming out. So after some more cards and a trip to the store for milk and Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, we enjoyed a large and delicious breakfast together. Then we packed up and headed home.

And the next day I really did pack up and head home. To my parents house, in Pleasanton. And now I’m here for the next 6 weeks. So far so good. Yesterday I went to dinner with the parents as soon as I got into town. My dad called on our way to dinner and said, “I just kept telling myself today that if I can just get to through today I get to see Elizabeth…If I just get through today I get to see Elizabeth…” He’s so precious. And today I went to lunch with my sister, then went clothes shopping and grocery shopping with my mom (don’t worry, Amy, I’ll make a list of things to report when I get back). And after dinner I went for a walk in the park with my parent’s dog, Brinklee. All in all a good day. I’m excited for the time to study, relax, exercise, rest, plan, and complete some projects over the next few weeks.

Here’s my list of things to accomplish:

– Read “Getting Serious About Getting Married: Rethinking the Gift of Singleness”

– Read “How People Change”

– Study Proverbs and James- with the goal in mind of studying wisdom. So I can get some!

– Paint my grandpa’s chest a light Tiffany Blue and paint a bookcase oyster white for my new apartment

– Get as tan as possible

– Spend as much time as possible with my sister in San Francisco

– Walk at 4 miles a day and strengthen my core with Pilates!

– Study hospitality

– Plan out what I want to be purposeful about in the RD ministry and how to accomplish those things

Life is good.

One thought on “Life is Good

  1. yeah, that IS a good life…that list of ‘to-do’ is like a vacation! so cool…use it wisely (for all the rest of us that probably won’t get to). 🙂
    -s
    PS-thanx for your call the other day..never heard back from the girl..soooooooo

Leave a Reply

