Back to #2

Yesterday I was sitting around doing something pretty pointless when something dawned on me that I alluded to in my last post about how God can be put on display through the inevitably messy relationships that marriage brings, but I never really came out and said it.

We love because God first loved us.

That’s it. But think about what this means for a young person’s desire (or lack of desire) to be married. Because we are new creations in Christ, and because we are commanded to no longer walk as the Gentiles do in the lusts of their flesh, and because we are Christ’s disciples if we love one another; because of all these things we no longer love others for the benefit they bring to us. We no longer have the option to view the marriage union for what it can do for us or what the other person can do for us.

We love because God first loved us.

This means that our love for others is born out of God’s steadfast and unchanging love for us. He is the source and sustaining fountain of our love for one another. This means that we don’t enter into any relationship thinking of what we can get out of it. Or, should I say, we shouldn’t. And marriage is no different. But I have allowed myself to think about marriage in terms of what it can do for me and what someone else can do for me. Since when am I allowed to think of any relationship this way? Because now that I’m a believer the source and fountain of my love for another person is not what they’ve done to merit my love but my God who loved me first.

The unbeliever in his flesh views all relationships for what he can get out of them. He views marriage for what he can get out of it. We succumb to worldly thinking when we allow ourselves to think of marriage that way. Marriage isn’t primarily about being loved, or respected, or served. It’s not about finding someone who will let you do what you want and put as little constraint on your life as possible.

It’s about loving someone else. Because God loved us first.

There is something about being loved and feeling secure in that love that is radically enabling to love another person without concern for self.

I hope that makes sense.

One thought on “Back to #2

  1. I reallly liked this, Beth. You had some well-put insight, so often we all lose sight of what is important because we’re all used to looking out for ourselves. Thanks for the reminder. Oh, and your comment below, about getting as tan as possible, made me laugh. I remember you doing that…and succeeding, haha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

