Scotch Tape Fest

Here’s another “Is this really my life” story for those of you out there who enjoy them….

Saturday night I got in bed with my Pottery Barn Sale magazine ready for some easy reading before heading to sleep. I’ve had a hard time dozing off since I’ve been home, partially because it is hotter than Sheol and I must sleep underneath covers….which isn’t super comfortable. So I think I finally slipped into a light doze around midnight.

At 12:30 I woke up feeling weird. My chest felt strange. After a few seconds I realized I had two bug bites on my chest. So I started itching them, and after a minute or so got up and got some ice out of the freezer and laid back down with an ice pack over the bites (which also helped with the heat).

After about a minute or two I felt two more bites around my elbow. I started itching them, too, and icing them. Then another. So I got out of bed again and grabbed some Scotch Tape. I remembered reading somewhere that if you put Scotch Tape over bug bites it: A) cuts off the oxygen to the bite so it doesn’t itch, and B) gets the poison out of the bite when you take off the tape. So I started taping up my bites. At this point I had two bites on my chest, three on my left arm, and within a minute had 2 on my right arm. After getting two more on each of my forearms, I got out of bed and went to the bathroom.

Literally the bites were HUGE. They were huge white welt looking things surrounded by red splotches. Completely weirded/freaked/grossed out I went back to my room and stripped off all of the bedding and put it in the washing machine. I proceeded to tape up the rest of my bites and went and slept next door in my sister’s old room.

The next morning I woke up and walked out to the kitchen with my chest and arms COVERED in Scotch Tape, which I promptly began peeling off. Needless to say, my mom was quite curious about the sight of me with my upper body covered in Scotch Tape.

So she says, “Oh, it was probably that spider we saw in your room.”

“WHAT spider?!”

“Oh, maybe just I saw it.”

Good to know.

But PTL for Scotch Tape, eh? It works like a charm. Tuck that in your back pocket for the next time you get attacked by mosquitoes/spiders/any living thing that is sustained by biting you.

P.S. I have since scoured my bedroom, vacuuming even the window sills and have washed every clothing item and bedding linen I own.

P.P.S. I did not find whatever the little devil was. Hopefully by now it has been obliterated.

One thought on “Scotch Tape Fest

  1. Beth! I’m actually hoping for a bug bite so that I can put your scotch tape tip to the test!
    Can’t wait to have you back down here!

Leave a Reply

