The Richest of Fare

The summer after my freshman year of college the Lord changed my life significantly. Through a series of events there came an instant when I realized, “If this is a God who causes men like Ezekiel to fall flat on their faces and men like Isaiah to say ‘Woe is me, I should die’ when they see his glory….He deserves so much more than I’ve been giving Him. He deserves everything.” The thought of giving up “normality” was paralyzing to me. I was petrified of the consequences of really truly serving God and being wholeheartedly dedicated to His Lordship. But by that time God had convinced me so much of His goodness that I had nowhere to go but to follow Him. I knew He was good and whatever the cost, He would be kind and good in it.

That summer the Lord used several quotes- in conjunction with His Word- to say what my heart felt but I couldn’t put into words. I was reminded of them today and thought I would share them with you. May we live to glorify God and find in Him our treasure and all-satisfaction.

“So, may all that we hold so dear leave us appetized, at best, for Him who created it – the Author and Fulfiller of life and pleasure. Who, no matter how shiny ‘things’ become, outshines them, and no matter how cloudy our days become, outlasts them. For in Him, clouds become glorious (Romans 8:28)! Their rain falls with grace and we are flooded under the downpour of a fallen world (Romans 8:20). Wet, hurt, and…SATISFIED. Blue skies are no longer our pursuit and sunny days no longer our reward…He IS! And He is better! Jesus- the richest of fare (Psalm 63:5)! Who came not for ‘Good Days’, but that we may have life and life to the full John 10:10)!” – From the inside cover of the CD “Carry Away” by Shane & Shane

“Come, everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and he who has no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk, without money and without price. Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread and your labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food. Incline your ear, and come to me; hear, that your soul may live.” – Isaiah 55:1-3

“Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips.” – Psalm 63:3-5

“But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.” – Psalm 73:28

“…We should be blood-earnest-deadly-serious about being happy in God. We should pursue our joy with a passion and a vehemence that, if it must, would cut off our hand or gouge out our eye to have it. God being glorified in us hangs on our being satisfied in Him. Which makes our being satisfied in Him infinitely important. It becomes the animating vocation of our lives. We tremble at the horror of not rejoicing in God. We quake at the fearful lukewarmness of our hearts. We waken to the truth that it is a treacherous sin not to pursue that satisfaction in God with all our hearts. There is one final word for finding delight in the creation more than the Creator: treason.” – John Piper

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:38-39 (Don’t think of the song when you read this- think- ANYTHING can happen and I won’t be separated from God’s love. So who cares what happens– because that’s all I want. To never be seperated from His love.)

“I know of no other way to triumph over sin long-term than to gain a distaste for it, because of a superior satisfaction in God…The human heart remains a ceaseless factory of desires. Sin remains powerfully and suicidally appealing. The battle remains: where will we drink? where will we feast?,,,,FEAST ON GOD!” – John Piper, Desiring God

“Many Christians are miserably dissatisfied because they accept Christ’s salvation and yet reject the fullness of daily relationship that satisfies.” -Beth Moore

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” – Psalm 16:11

2 thoughts on “The Richest of Fare

  1. I am really blessed by your heart for the Lord. It’s nice to find other people seeking out the heart of life. You’re doing it! God uses you a lot, even more when you’re not aware of it. To Him be the glory!!!

  2. Pingback: My Story: Part V « Rugged Joy

Leave a Reply

