Merry Christmas!

A few weeks ago I was talking to my dad and he said, “Just make sure you bring home some nice clothes when you come for Christmas.” The second he said it I knew full well what he meant– there was a surprise in store (because I know he doesn’t even notice what I wear and could care less whether my clothes are nice or not.) The first night I was home he told us we were going into San Francisco to watch “A Christmas Carol” at the American Conservatory Theater and going to Morton’s for dinner afterwards on Christmas Eve. Here are a few pictures from our night:

My ticket

A Christmas Carol Ticket

The family by the tree in the foyer of the theater

Fam by the Christmas Tree

The Catron kids

Kids in Union Square

The kids and spouses — Dan and Sadie

All the kids

The magnificent tree in Union Square

Union Square Tree

An artsy picture of the menu at Morton’s

Morton's Menu

The fam around the table at Morton’s

Family at Morton's

One funny story: the most hilarious part of the entire night was when one of the waiters accidentally dripped some sauce on me as he was setting down my place. It was not a big deal at all, but oily and up and down my left arm, so when he offered to bring me a warm towel I thanked him. He clearly felt badly, so I tried to assure him it really wasn’t a problem. Later on, the maitre d’ came over to apologize and brought me an envelope of money to take care of the dry cleaning bill. I looked in the envelope and we all enjoyed a good laugh– he brought me $20 to dry clean my $9 sweater! I could buy 2 new ones with the money I got. Me: $11 up. Not a bad night.

My sister and I laughing

Laughter

When I returned home I had a package waiting for me– a mug from my RAs with their faces on it! Just so I don’t have to spend a morning or evening without them! Precious, aren’t they?

RA Mug

The fam (minus Mom who was taking the picture) around the dinner table for Christmas Dinner.

Christmas Dinner

P.S. You’ll be happy to know my gift to my dad this year accomplished my goal: tears! Another successful gift completed.

Leave a Reply

