Shattered Dreams

I was reading an article today about giving up our dreams.This quote was really beautiful to me,

“My darkest time taught me that I can trust my loving Father with my future — even when His way hurts. When God shatters dreams, He rebuilds them into something beautiful. Perhaps not beautiful by worldly standards but more akin to what is captured in Isaiah, when God says He will give His people “a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair” (Isaiah 61:3).”

Maybe this hit me as especially timely because it’s SLS season and I’m having a lot of conversations with people who have gotten what they wanted and are excited about it and others who are dealing with the disappointment of loss and rejection. Maybe it’s because two years ago at this time I saw my own dream of being an RD shatter when they hired my best friend and roommate instead, or because last year I saw that dream realized when they asked me to reapply and hired me on as an RD of a dorm I never wanted to be in. Maybe it’s because last year at this time I was dealing with the reality the of my dad– a pillar of strength to me– being very sick and weak and now I am seeing God’s abundant provision for him after not even a year of dialysis. Maybe it’s because this past year of being an RD has been full of unexpected pain and challenges and burdens I never wanted to bear…and with just two weeks left I can honestly say I don’t want the year to end.

Whatever the reason, I’m living proof that life doesn’t always go according to our plan. I never wanted to go to Master’s. I never wanted to go to John MacArthur’s church. I didn’t want to graduate college single. I never wanted to live in Dixon. I didn’t want to be an RD this year. But God has been faithful to take away certain dreams and give me other realities….and in all of it I am really, utterly, entirely grateful. I love the Master’s College, I love Grace Community Church, I’ve loved these past few years of singleness, and I love the ministry I get to be a part of. Who would have thought?

Here’s to giving up our dreams so God can give us better ones.

2 thoughts on “Shattered Dreams

  1. Hey I talked to my parents today. They said your folks were coming down (next weekend?). I will be praying for your dad and your family. Thanks for another thought-provoking blog. Hope you are blessed this week in many ways.

Leave a Reply

