Freed Up

I was listening to a John Piper sermon today (surprise, surprise) on the life on C.S. Lewis and his pursuit of Joy. It’s a great sermon.

This quote struck me,

“Lewis’s pursuit of Joy by means of rational defenses of objective truth has had liberating effect on me. He freed me from false dichotomies. He demonstrated for me and convinced me that rigorous, precise, penetrating logic is not inimical to deep, soul-stirring feeling and vivid, lively imagination. He was a ‘romantic rationalist.’ He combined what almost everybody today assumes are mutually exclusive: rationalism and poetry, cool logic and warm feeling, disciplined prose and free imagination. In shattering these old stereotypes for me, he freed me to think hard and to write poetry, to argue for the resurrection and compose hymns to Christ, to smash an argument and hug a friend, to demand a definition and use a metaphor. It is a wonderful thing when a great man shows a struggler how to be himself.”

As I read it I realized that this is exactly what John Piper has done for me. Naturally I am a passionate, feelings-oriented, emotional highs and lows type of girl. But Piper (in conjunction with Papa C, Andrea Kolstad, my time at Master’s, and the Word of God) has taught me to think hard and deeply about the things of God, wrestle with truth, be strongly convinced of it, AND love it with the passion God has given me.

Praise the Lord.

“Brothers, do not be children in your thinking. Be infants in evil, but in your thinking be mature.”
– 1 Corinthians 14:20

Leave a Reply

