A Santa Cruz Christmas Mix

It’s been a few years since I posted my Christmas mix….but I’ve been faithfully making them each year. Take a peek at this year’s line up*:

  1. This Christmas – Elliott Yamin
  2. Let It Snow –Ben Rector
  3. Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) – U2
  4. The Christmas Waltz – Kristin Chenoweth
  5. All I want for Christmas Is You – Dave Barnes
  6. The Little Drummer Boy – Sean Kingston
  7. He Has Come For Us (God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen) – Meredith Andrews
  8. The First Noel – Josh Groban & Faith Hill
  9. Family Tree – Dave Barnes
  10. Baby It’s Cold Outside – Leon Redbone & Zooey Deschanel
  11. No Christmas for Me – Zee Avi
  12. O Holy Night – Shane Barnard & Shane Everett
  13. Welcome To Our World – Chris Rice
  14. I Pray On Christmas – Dave Barnes
  15. Angels We Have Heard On High – Josh Groban & Brian McKnight
  16. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra
  17. Joy to the World – Mariah Carey
  18. It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year – Andy Williams
  19. It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Harry Connick, Jr.
  20. I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas – The Drifters
  21. Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree – Brenda Lee
  22. Jingle Bell Rock – Brenda Lee
  23. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! – Frank Sinatra & The B Swanson Quartet
  24. Grown Up Christmas List – Kelly Clarkson
  25. Thankful – Josh Groban
  26. Someday At Christmas – Jack Johnson
  27. I’ll Be Home for Christmas – Dave Barnes
  28. O Come, O Come Emmanuel – Shane Barnard & Shane Everett
  29. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus – Chris Tomlin feat. Christy Nockels
  30. Auld Lang Syne – Ben Rector

I don’t like to toot my own horn…but there’s only a two things I really bring to this world – good fashion sense and great mixes. For everything else I’m positively worthless.

I’d say this one is pretty solid. Beep beep.

* I take the line up of a mix very seriously. All the songs need to flow and vibe perfectly. You can’t just throw them together. You have to listen to the end of one song and the beginning of the other and make sure it will be pleasant to the listener’s ear when the transition is made. I believe the #1 spot should always be a strong, attention grabbing song that is telling of the rest of the mix’s flow & feel. The #2-#4 spots should follow that up with solid energy (some of your faves, but not the best ones – kinda like the person who’d be fun to date but you wouldn’t want to marry), but the #5 should be the best song of the entire mix (which I typically reserve for “All I Want For Christmas Is You by Mariah Carey…please note the switch this year from Mariah to Dave Barnes). #5-#8 should be like the book of Romans, as Dr. Halstead would describe chapters 5-8 of Romans the “diamond in the ring of the book of Romans” and chapter 8 being the “sparkle in the diamond.” So #5-#8 are your best, #8 being the pinnacle of the mix (this ultimately goes back to a debate I had with my friend Dan Beaty in college — I thought #5 was always the best song on the CD, he thought #8 was…so we compromised and made 5-8 the best, starting with mine and ending with his.) Then you start going into the “cool down” of the mix from #9-on. That’s typically when you’ve been listening for long enough that you start to zone out. This mix was particularly long, so I inserted an extra “pick-me-up” section before hitting the end with a strong Jesus-focused, worshipful song & a sentimental capstone at the end.

3 thoughts on “A Santa Cruz Christmas Mix

  1. Beth,
    Your Christmas Mix is one of the best I’ve come across and your reasoning behind it is brilliant. You are my Holiday Mix sensei.
    P.S. Christmas isn’t Christmas this year without one of your fabulous parties. Sniff, sniff!

Leave a Reply

