Wisdom from the Reverend McCheyne

I came across these today as I was reading McCheyne’s Memoirs for my last MABC class (PTL!) and they seemed too good to hoard all for myself.

“I feel infinitely ungodly in myself: in God’s eye, like a serpent or toad; and yet, when I stand in Christ alone, I feel that God sees no sin in me, and loves me freely.”

“Learn much of the Lord Jesus. For every look at yourself, take ten looks at Christ. He is altogether lovely. Such infinite majesty, and yet such meekness and grace, and all for sinners, even the chief! Live much in the smiles of God. Bask in his beams. Feel his arms…Let your soul be filled with a heart-ravishing sense of the sweetness and excellency of Christ and all that is in Him.”

“This is Christ’s glory, that he justifies sinners who have no righteousness, and sanctifies souls which have no inborn holiness. Let Jesus bear your whole weight. Remember, He loves to be the only support of the soul. He is a jealous Saviour. He wants to be entirely trusted. There is nothing that you can possibly need but you will find it in Him.”

– Rev. Robert Murray McCheyne

Leave a Reply

