Lessons From A Broken Life

Black & white photo of a warehouse demolition for a remodel

For some reason, in the past week I’ve been reminded of all of the good things God has brought out of this season here in Santa Cruz. It’s been about a year and a half since I’ve moved here and it’s as if my eyes are just beginning to see what an amazing time it’s been. It hasn’t been easy and it hasn’t always been pleasant, but it’s been restoring to my soul. As with most restoration projects, this has come with its fair share of demolition to my soul.

Tonight as I was reflecting on some of the things God has taught me and used to increase my joy, Ecclesiastes 3:11 came to mind, “He has made everything beautiful in its time.” He certainly has made this season in Santa Cruz beautiful….in time.

So I’m going to do a blog series (and by “do” I mean “attempt” and we all know when I attempt one of these…I rarely finish) on lessons I’ve learned during the year and a half since I left everything & everyone I knew and loved in LA to move here. These have been born out of brokenness, the demolition of the soul I mentioned earlier, hence the title of this post. Some of these are going to be very vulnerable, but here is my heart out on the line. Here we go:

  1. God wants you to want Him.
  2. Suffering poorly makes you miserable.
  3. The God of the impossible can do what you think is impossible – instead of changing your circumstances, He can change you.
  4. Man hating makes you miserable.
  5. Attraction won’t change your life.
  6. If you want to persevere you have to pace yourself.
  7. Encouragement is the language of motivation.
  8. Doing it all is a disservice to the Kingdom.
  9. Self-pity makes you miserable.
  10. Good friends are worth their weight in gold.
  11. Taking oneself too seriously is ugly.
  12. Servant leadership is irresistible.

Okay, even I know there’s no way I’m going to blog a 12 part series on these things. Some of these are self-explanatory so I may just leave them be. But I’ll try my best to actually finish this and I hope to encourage you (my sprawling fan club) as I process these lessons through writing.

Tune back in tomorrow when I begin by blogging about #1, God wants you to want Him.

Leave a Reply

